“Having believed, you were marked in him (Christ) with a seal, the promised Holy Spirit, who is the deposit guaranteeing our inheritance until the redemption of those who are God’s possession to the praise of his glory.” Ephesians 1: 13, 14

I heard of a clever little bird in the tropics who will cover his young in the nest with leaves. When a poisonous snake slithers up the branch to devour the helpless birds, it strikes its tongue against the leaves and instantly recoils. The leaves are poisonous to the snake.

This little story reminds me that as Christians, we also have an adversary, the devil, who wants to destroy us. But we have a three — fold security: the seal of the Holy Spirit which means ownership by God; the blood of Jesus Christ which atones for every sin; and the name of Christ which sends Satan running. When we are in danger, all of heaven comes to our defense.

Some years ago, in an African country, weak in body and discouraged in soul, I sensed an encroaching darkness descend upon me. On this particular day, I had gone to bed but couldn’t sleep. An ominous dread filled my heart. When I opened my eyes, I saw a dark figure had entered the room. I called for my husband to come and together we said, “In the name of Jesus Christ, we command you to leave. We are covered with the blood of Jesus Christ and you cannot touch us. We belong to God.”

Instantly the darkness vanished.

In Christ, we have a covering that the powers of darkness cannot penetrate. Therefore, we have nothing to fear — ever.Helen-Lescheid

Father, I thank you for the victory that is ours in Christ Jesus. I pray for your covering upon myself and my children today.

Question: Have you ever experienced a period or moment of spiritual darkness? How did God bring you through it?

About this Author: Helen Grace Lescheid (http://thelife.com/blogs/author/hlescheid/)

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine